Fifty Five Words

November 13, 2006

This week’s writing exercise is deceptively simple, yet challenging. The task is to write a short-short story with exactly 10 sentences, and ONLY ten sentences. The first sentence must contain exactly 10 words, the next 9, and so on, until the final sentence is just one word. Here’s what I did:
 

Vengeance

I finally found the vile creature that took my son.
Her coffin—I lay open under the pale moonlight.
Her serene countenance belies the pitiless temptress within.
Her youthful visage hides centuries of murder.
North winds breathe a cold gale.
But I tremble in rage.
This wooden dagger unleashed.
My grip tightens.
No hesitation.

Death.

5 Responses to “Fifty Five Words”

  1. Anita Marie Says:

    These are great exercises, I’ve tried a few of them myself and they’ve been lots of fun as well as inspirational. Keep ’em coming! Plus, this one was a GREAT read.

    Anita Marie

  2. techbite Says:

    I stumbled upon this blog just by pressing the next button repeatedly, but now I am addicted to it. Its a lot of fun to read, and I highly recommend it. Keep up the good work!

  3. guile Says:

    thanks, Anita Marie :).

  4. guile Says:

    hi, techbite :).. thanks for dropping by my humble abode..


  5. […] 23rd, 2007 Last year, I posted a creative writing exercise (Fifty Five Words) that deals with exactly fifty five words. I met PinchMe through Mylot.com and this person gamely […]


Leave a comment